Grinnell Award Committee

Committee Members: B. Coyner, G. Feldhamer, E. Lessa, M. Matocq (Chair), and P. D. Sudman.

Mission:

The purpose of this committee is to solicit nominations for and select a recipient of the Joseph Grinnell Award. The Joseph Grinnell Award honors individuals who have made outstanding and sustained contributions to education in mammalogy over a period of at least 10 years.

Information Items:

- (1) In Spring 2017, the Committee reviewed application materials, chose the nominee, and forwarded their nomination to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. With enthusiastic approval of the Board, the award recipient, Dr. Robert M. Timm, was announced at the closing event of the 2017 Annual Meeting at the University of Idaho, Moscow.
- (2) In discussions with President Robert Sikes and to provide uniformity across years, it was decided that the presentation of the Grinnell Award plaque itself would, from now on, always be made by the Vice President at the opening of the award recipient's plenary presentation.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$350.00 to produce the Grinnell Award.

Respectfully submitted, Marjorie D. Matocq, Chair (mmatocq@cabnr.unr.edu)